Pages Navigation Menu

Shortboard club located in Geraldton WA

30th Sunshine Surfmasters

30th Sunshine Surfmasters

Locals Shine At The 30th Annual Sunshine Surfmasters

The Geraldton Board Riders 2006 season culminated on the weekend with the successful running of the 30th Sunshine Surf Masters and a well attended presentation evening at the Geraldton Hotel on Sunday, where winners from the event shared in over $15,000 in cash and prizes with the bulk of the cash sponsorship being provided by local Midwest Businesses.

Event organizers were greeted with a 2.5metre swell on the Saturday morning at Flat Rocks with clearing cloud and moderate SE winds. A large field of over 100 entrants, including many visiting surfers from Perth and beyond, competed over the weekend and the standard of surfing was very high across all divisions. Sunday was the better day as the wind was from the East and the swell built slowly through the morning.

In the blue ribbon event, the Geraldton Hotel Open Men’s division, local GBR 2006 club Champion, Justin Hagan reveled in the conditions at his local break catching more waves than any other finalist. He didn’t have it all his own way though as he was up against some of the State’s top talent in Margaret River surfer Brett Hardy (a former Australian Title holder), 2005 Sunshine Surfmasters winner, Rockingham’s Ryan Wordsworth and local star Ben McGay. Hagan had an early lead in the final picking off a good overhead peeling left seconds after the starting siren. He was closely followed by all 3 of his competitors launching into a flurry of lefts and rights within minutes. The battle was a brilliant one as surfers went wave for wave producing dazzling vertical moves that had the crowd hooting. Hagan sealed first place from Geraldton’s Ben McGay towards the end of the final with his last wave scoring an 8.5 justly rewarding his superb surfing.

The Latitude Pearls Women’s Final enjoyed good waves to test the strong field of female competitors. Misty Poyner ensured Leah Wright was on her game with two high scoring rides but they were no match for State Champion Wright’s local knowledge and fiery moves. Leah will be representing WA at the Australian Titles in September.

The Carlton Draught Masters was another great final with local GBR Grand Masters Club champion Leon Norris, dominating the final from impressive goofy footer Kim Burton. Geraldton’s Ben McGay turned the tables on Justin Hagan in the Geraldton Hotel Senior Mens Division, finding the better waves to take out the final from Geraldton’s Ken Dann. Geraldton’s Jake Molloy returned to the competition scene after a couple of months recovering from a broken ankle. The time away from the waves did nothing to cramp his style as he won a hard fought final in the Midwest Valuations Junior Division from another local champion Ryan Wright.

The Bundaberg Rum Air Show was exciting with 8 surfers in the water looking to boost the most radical aerial manoeuver. Geraldton’s Ben McDonald had the best strategy and focused on the right handers and boosted two dynamic airs on the one wave to easily defeat the field.

In the other events Trigg’s Ian Darby took out the Northcoast Contractors Grand Masters Division, Zac Alexandar (Perth) won the Baghwan Marine non-competitors while Danny Williams put on a sensational display to take out the Surfwest Cadet Division. This year the winner of the Batavia Timber and Salvage “Dunny Bowl” Final was Kalbarri’s Jake Perkins.

GBR would like to thank all of the members and competitors for their participation and assistance with the 30th Annual Sunshine Surf Masters.

GBR Events Calendar